The Choir and their beauty

Starting in Frankfurt for a flight to Beirut. I’m excited since it’s been 14 years ago I last traveled by plane, and Beirut is some exotic trip destination. However, I am amazed, too, because Frankurt airport is working like an absolutely accurate, faultless machine. Clearly spoken announcements in German and English, relaxed dealings with the staffing and some smoothing mega-organisation. Frankfurt, so it seems, stands for German perfection and correctness. (*hawk* *ahem*)

And if you think of Turkey? What first comes into my mind is passion and some easy going laissez-faire. Thats what the atmosphere at Istanbul airport (where I had to change the plane) mirrored to my eyes: English announcements super-speedily spoken with a strong accent and somewhat freestyle organisation leading into some irritation and argumentation between flying guests and staffing. I liked it. 🙂 (To challenge this – more or less superficial prejudiced – impression: I flew by Turkish Airlines. And to my idea it was absolutely professional in a German” sense. ;D Last but not least, Istanbul airport wasnt unprofessional, just not such a perfect oiled machine as Frankfurt airport is.)

Anyways, airports are some strange place. I would expect them more to be like in this one hectic situation in Istanbul ore like railway stations (where everyone seems to be in a hurry), especially when things run out of control: i.e., your booking got wrong or your plane getting delayed, whatever. Then I get reminded of some anti-stress tips. Breathe in, breathe out. Count up to ten.

But recently I found another strategy. I listened to The Choir’s “Mr. Chandler”. What ease they have in handling such a situation, in which most of us, including me, would probably have gone berzerk…

(People don’t travel with pens anymore)

Now I must have a word with

Mr. Chandler

Your ticket has been modified, Mr. Chandler

The K has been changed

Crudely to a T

It is my obligation, my responsibility

Kim could your wife; she could be your sister

Such is my life

I must inform you Mister

Chandler

Mr. Chandler

You’ve got a fraudulent ticket

A fraudulent ticket, Mr. Chandler

Mr. Chandler

You’ve got a fraudulent ticket

At last we got to Winnipeg

Manitoba

Drive into the wilderness

And played the show

We found a pair of boats

And rowed out on that lake

Fired up four smoky treats

Joked about the day

Kim could be your niece

Your Aunt

Your daughter

We howled like ghouls on that cool black water

Chandler

Mr. Chandler

You’ve got a fraudulent ticket

A fraudulent ticket, Mr. Chandler

Mr. Chandler

You’ve got a fraudulent ticket

I cannot let you fly

I cannot let you fly

(Flight 144 to Saskatchewan boarding now)

Mr. Chandler…

What kind of music they play! Such a beauty, such a loving and peaceful look at everyday live. (Since I don’t want to start any discussion in this text but would like to avoid hurtful misunderstandings, just let me put it this way: It’s some appropriate look, though there are other views on life that are even contrary, yet/that’s why as needed as well. But for me The Choir are heroes when it comes to learning a loving and peaceful look at live. Others are helpful to come to learn one of the other views.)

It’s not a bad car that I drive

Barely well but still alive

You might laugh when I arrive

It’s not a bad car that I drive

It’s not a cold couch where I sleep

Not as hard as it was cheap

Seven foot long, two feet deep

It’s not a cold couch where I sleep

She’s not a sad girl that I’ve got

Cries a little, laughs a lot

Loves her man more than she ought

She’s not a sad girl that I’ve got

Tie your shoelaces

To my shoelaces

I’ll tie a rope to a tree

We’ll see how the wind whips

Happy fool faces

Come blow away with me

It’s not a cruel world where I stay

Spins around once everyday

Children dance, proud men sway

It’s not a cruel world where I stay

It’s not a black heart where I feel

Wicked schemes I may reveal

Washed in blood each time I kneel

It’s not a black heart where I feel

More great songs by this charming band…

One response to “The Choir and their beauty

  1. hello, J.A… thanks for the visit. i’ll comment on this and the other posts some other time, ha… it’s weekend over here and things are a bit busy. but i’ll come back and comment longer when things are less swamped. hope you are okay… warm regards 🙂

Well, I'd like to know: What do you think?

