Drawings by Sam Vanallemeersch

 Watching historical paintings of war sceneries is a little bit… well, I’m not excited, terrified or emotional like this, if emotional at all. Many of those I have seen are either cozy or pathetic.

 In contrast to them, those crazy bashing scenes drawn by Albert Uderzo are at least funny. Not to mention that they lack the violence of violence at all. As Obelix is running with an innocent laughter into the choreographic Roman rows, just in order to destabilize them into pure chaos. Oh man, thats pure joy! 😀

 What about war movies? Well, for some guys they are even more than just fascinating and attracting.

 So, how can chaos aptly be expressed? And Im not speaking about the cute and dearest chaos of not getting ones schedule organized or ones flat tidied up…

 I found Sam Vanallemeersch to be an artist having found an interesting pictorial language. Interesting in the way that chaos appears to be chaos!, but simultaneously he seems to realize the aesthetic problem in depicting the bad, the ugly, the evil, the dirty and frantic excess. Whether this strange kind humour is apt, I leave it up to you. But for me it works well in this context. (Click on images for a real large version.)

10 responses to “Drawings by Sam Vanallemeersch

    • thank you, Glenne Bee, for sharing the link here! 🙂 really, it’s way better than those I had in mind!
      although unfortunately I have to admit that for me it doesn’t get completely to the point the drawings by Vanallemeersch get to.

    • hey Glennie Bee, I just wanted to add, that I tried to express more into detail the impression I have of the Ruben as well as if the Goya. if you like to respond to it, I’ve included it in my response to JSE. 🙂

    • hey JSE, thank you for calling my attention to Goya. maybe I was a little bit narrow minded when writing this entry as you are the second person directing me to some good examples that avoid the boringness of the above mentioned historical paintings. it’s good to have you people here giving correction. 🙂
      for me Goya’s paintings seem to have a different direction of impact or a different mood. they are cold and dry. they feel quite technical and relentless. that way those drawings become quite disturbing. I really feel uncomfortable with them. they show the senselessness of war. I’m lacking any words, because there is nothing to say.
      the drawings by Vanallemeersch are quite contrary to me. they are full of energy. it seems as though they want to depict the fury, rage and destructive power, the violent throwing. I’m lacking words, because there is too much for me to say respectively the words don’t seem to fit for expressing the terror I’m sensing.
      Ruben’s copy is emotional, too, and full of energy. but this picture seems to point out individual involvement and self-interest. although they all are intertwined on a physical, material basis there is no spiritual, mental connection between them. everyone is fighting for himself. it’s a fascinating effect! the others are of no importance. it’s just oneself to survive and to destroy the other. in Goya’s and Vanallemeersch’s drawings everyone’s primarly interconnected in a spiritual, mental sphere. they all suffer the same fate, regardless of whether one is culprit or victim. in the Ruben everyone is suffering on its own.

      • Yes, I see what you’re saying. I thought of it more as a formal representation of ‘chaos’, where you can’t really tell where one horse begins and another ends. So, although the human figures are separate, they are all bound together by this mess of ‘war-machine’ (the horses): self-interest, as you call it, is subsumed in the whole so that there is, I think, more than a just a physical connection suggested. And, unlike with today’s warfare, ‘war’ at that time meant very often individual versus individual, hand-to-hand combat; I think Leonardo did something very extraordinary here, in combining individual struggle with the idea of being inextricably part of something much greater. I find it very powerful.
        Phew! It’s a bit early for me to be thinking! Need a rest and a coffee now! 🙂

      • okay. what do you suppose is that “something much greater”? (“this mess of ‘war-machine'”?) I’m little bit stuck on my view, that war, as you also write, during that time meant physical interconnection, but that they are mentally, spiritually all thrown on their own (for me even the horses are on their own).

  1. wow! i find these to be excellent portrayals of war. the rendition is very nuanced. they appear creepy but i do not find myself really creeped out, you know what i mean? basta, he draws rather well. they’re captivating… hello, J.A.

    the rain won’t stop over here, dang… don’t know if i’d have the energy to look at the aftermaths later, hehe;)

    • hey San, I have heard you had a really bad flooding there. I hope you’re fine and not too many people were harmed!

      I think I understand what you mean: you’re not as shocked as one could be?

      I hope next week or the next but one week I find time reading your entries. at the moment I have a lot to do… 😦 but I will pass by, promised! 🙂

      • well, yes, J.A.. it was a long, protracted downpour which ended with the whole metropolis being subjected to tons of floodwater. we’re not hurt, thanks. very few casualties, over-all. but hundreds of thousands households were affected, including us. our lives were interrupted then, suspended. it’s cleaning mode. 😉

        no, am not shocked by his paintings. there is something comical and conspiratorial (with the audience) about them. they seem to say, ” this was how it was. it’s our little secret, huh?” eons back, at school, i got to take a look at several renditions of wars in Europe – WWI and WWII, mostly. also, in college, my group mates and I did a report on the technology of wars – from the Stone Age (hehe) to the modern robotic wars. i’d say Sam V’s drawings come out different, compelling in a way. not as bold as Goya’s maybe, but different.

        oh, yes, do come over. i miss your naughty comments. hello! 😉

Well, I'd like to know: What do you think?

